DE  |  EN

Building Contaminants | Picture Data Base

Wood Preservatives (PCP, Lindan, DDT)

Roof Truss

Wood Preservatives

Pentachlorophenol (PCP) was once an major ingredient of many brands of wood preservatives in Germany and was responsible for the contamination of timber used in construction. It was frequently blended with the insecticide Lindan in a ratio of approx. 10:1. In the former German Democratic Republic DDT was also a frequently major component.

Wood Preservatives

Roof truss of a multifamily house built during the early 1900's. The white crystalline coating of the timber is reportedly due to treatment with a fire resistant agent.

Wood Preservatives

Close-up of previous photo.

Wood Preservatives

A sign within an attic indicating the treatment with wood preservatives. It states where and how much of a certain wood preservative has been applied. In this case Hylotox and Dohnalit has been used. In the Old Federal States PCP and Lindane were the main ingredients whereas in the New Federal States DDT was the main insecticide component. In the former German Democratic Republic the use of DDT in wood preservatives was permitted until the reunion of Germany in 1989. In the Old Federal States DDT has been banned since 1972. Owing to the long half-life of DDT it is able to out gas from treated timber over several tens of years. Particularly when an attic is to be converted for residential purposes the former application of wood preservatives needs to be investigated. When a building is demolished the timber needs to be disposed of in accordance with the German Used Timber Ordinance (AltholzV).

Tenant Storage Compartments

Wood Preservatives

Wooden tenant storage compartments treated with wood preservatives.

Tenant storage compartments

Stairs

Flight of stairs possibly treated with wood preservatives.

The German "Used Timber Ordinance"  (AltholzV) divides waste timber generated at demolished buildings into four different classes. Structural load bearing timber and half-timbering and rafters are allocated for example to the category A IV and are accepted  as such by the waste disposal. During demolition the different types of wood have to be segregated and classified according to their category. Interior wooden panels such as ceiling panels, wood wool panels and chip board are therefore not to be mixed with structural timber.

Treated wooden stairs.

Cladding

Exterior cladding possibly treated with wood preservatives.

Wooden suspended ceiling possibly treated with wood preservatives.

TOP

LEGAL NOTICE

PRIVACY POLICY

PICTURE DATA BASE

DE  |  EN

Gebäudeschadstoffe | Fotodatenbankmenue

Holzschutzmittel (PCP, Lindan, DDT)

Dachstuhl

Bei der Kontamination von Bauteilen mit Holzschutzmitteln steht die Verwendung des Wirkstoffs Pentachlorphenol (PCP) im Vordergrund. PCP lag in vielen Holzschutzmitteln häufig gemeinsam mit dem Insektizid Lindan in einem Mengenverhältnis von ca. 10:1 vor. In der ehemaligen DDR wurde DDT häufig als Hauptgemengteil verwendet.

Dachboden eines Mehrfamilienhauses aus den Gründerjahren. Die weiße kristalline Farbe ist angeblich durch die frühere Behandlung des Holzes mit Brandschutzmitteln entstanden.

Nahaufnahme des vorherigen Bildes.

Dachbodenschild über die Behandlung mit Holzschutzmittel. Es gibt an, wo und wie viel Holzschutzmittel eines bestimmten Typs angewandt wurde. In diesem Fall wurde Hylotox und Dohnalit verwendet. In den alten Bundesländern wurden früher PCP und Lindan als Wirkstoffe eingesetzt. In den neuen Bundesländern verwendete man als Insektizidbestandteil DDT. In der ehemaligen DDR war der Einsatz von DDT in Holzschutzmitteln bis zur Wende erlaubt. In den alten Bundesländern gilt das Verbot von DDT seit 1972. Aufgrund der hohen Halbwertszeit von DDT kann es Jahrzehnte lang aus dem behandelten Holz ausgasen. Vor allen beim Dachausbau zu Wohnzwecken ist auf die ehemalige Behandlung des Holzes mit Holzschutzmittel zu achten. Beim Abriss des Gebäudes ist das behandelte Holz gesondert zu entsorgen.

Mieterabteile

Mieterabteile behandelt mit Holzschutzmittel.

Mieterabteile

Treppen

Behandelte Treppen. Beim Gebäude Abriss kann Abruchholz nach der AltholzV je nach Belastungsgrad vier verschiedenen Klassen zugeordnet werden. Konstruktionshölzer für tragende Teile, Holzfachwerk und Dachsparren und Fenster fallen in die Altholzkatagorie A IV und werden beim Entsorger entsprechend diese Klassifizierung entgegen genommen.  Beim Rückbau sind die verschieden Abruchholzsorten entsprechend ihre Altholzkatagorie getrennt zu halten und zu entsorgen. Holzplatten aus dem Innenausbau (z.B. Deckenpaneele, Holzwolle Wandverkleidung, Spanplatten, Türblätter) sind daher nicht mit tragenden Holzbalken zu vermischen.

Behandelte Treppen.

Verkleidung

Wandverkleidung behandelt mit Holzschutzmittel.

Deckenverkleidung behandelt mit Holzschutzmittel.

TOP

IMPRESSUM

DATENSCHUTZERKLÄRUNG

FOTODATENBANK